Douglasville Auto Insurance | Don’t Get Caught without Car Insurance

Did you know that auto insurance is mandatory in the state of Georgia? Some people may not think it is a big deal as long as you are driving carefully and take caution to not get in an accident, but driving without insurance can have major consequences. Take a look at some of the penalties you can receive if you are found to be driving without auto insurance:

You may pay a fine. The court will likely order you to pay a fine that can be anywhere between $200 and $1000.

Your license can be suspended for 60 to 90 days. This means that you will not be able to drive for whatever time determined by the judge.
You could possibly receive jail time. Generally, most only receive jail time if they have been caught driving without auto insurance multiple times or if it was combined with another charge like a DUI or an accident. In Georgia, you can actually be sentenced up to one year in jail for driving without insurance, which is a misdemeanor charge.

Keep in mind that just because you may not be caught by a police officer for driving without insurance, it does not mean that you will not be caught. Per Georgia law, insurance companies are required to report when policies have lapsed or been cancelled due to non-payment.

For more information about Georgia’s insurance laws or for assistance getting auto insurance – give us a call at (770) 489-2403 or contact us online.

The information on this site is general in nature. Any description of coverage is necessarily simplified. Whether a particular loss is covered depends on the specific facts and the provisions, exclusions and limits of the actual policy. Nothing on this site alters the terms or conditions of any of our policies. You should read the policy for a complete description of coverage. Coverage options, limits, discounts and deductibles are subject to availability and to individuals meeting our underwriting criteria. Not all features available in all areas.
Powered by Professional Mojo Marketing